top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Do You Miss It?

Firstly, I must say that all praises belong to the creator of the universe through who all understanding comes... God is Love...

Hello my friends, Sorry for being MIA however, the world will get you so lost in but, you must find time for what's important to you.

Do you ever miss the way things were? I found myself thinking how good life was. It was St. Thomas, it was the holidays. It was a one room board house. The air is soaked by the smell of urine. Two beds in the room while old clothes on the floor makes the third. One bed was occupied by my grand mother and her husband, one bed occupied by my mom, my aunt and the smaller kids (like me) while, my brothers and smaller uncle was on the floor. We did not have electricity so lamps provided lighting, we didn't have television so I was the entertainment. I loved telling stories about Brother Anancy and Brother Tucumah.

Laughter was a constant feature within the halls of that little board house. Everyone seemed so happy to be around each other and it didn't matter that when ever someone came off the bed they ran the risk of stepping on someone nor did it matter that chimies filled with urine had to be emptied in the morning. Life just seemed to be so much fun and everyone was getting along.

Fast Forward to Twenty Five years later. My Grand Mother and her Husband is now dead and the family that was once so happy is now being ripped apart by egos and pettiness in the obvious glow of utter stupidity. It seems that the more we achieve, the more we lose. No one seems to be getting along. It is not that some of us who know better have not tried to keep the peace but tings still seem to fall to pieces.

I wish there was some way for all of us to see just how important each member of our family is without having to deal with someone dying first because that's the only time people tend to realise that they are family.

bottom of page