top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Respect vs. Obligation

Firstly, I must say that all praises belong to the creator of the universe through who all understanding comes... God is Love............

Let us define these words first of all so that we have a clear understanding of the noted and established differences in the two.

Respect- A feeling of deep admiration for someone or something elicited by their abilities, qualities or achievements.

Obligation- 1.An act or course of action to which a person is bond.

2. A duty or a commitment.

Now, a lot of times I hear persons telling people that they are to show them respect. I don't think that persons appreciate that respect cannot be demanded in the sense that you cannot tell people that they need to respect you. Respect has to be earned for it to still be considered respect. Now on the other had, a person will be placed in a position of authority and because of that, one is obligated to respond to he/she in a professional manner. This in no way means that the person respects the individual.

I personally had a supervisor who I respected and at that time, I referred to the person by their first name. Sometime after, the person got confuse between the two concepts and told me that I should no longer refer to them in that manner and so because I was obligated to, I starting calling the person with Miss so and so but at that time, all the respect I had for that person was gone. To this day I still refer to the person in that manner out of obligation because it is very difficult for you to regain my respect after you have lost it.

Generally, that is the case. Given the fact that respect is earned, a greater value is placed on it and so losing the respect of others is a greater loss than and cannot be compared to the gains afforded by obligation.

The bible in Mathew 5:15 speaks to letting your light so shine before men. This text for me speaks to one having to show people the qualities they posses and based on that, people will appreciate you for it hence, you would have eared their respect.

Today, I urge you to let your light so shine. Show people your qualities, let that demand the respect you deserve. Give respect where it is due and in turn you will be respected because what ever you put into the universe, comes back around to you.

Peace Love and Joy

bottom of page